They’ll Never Guess the Secret Ingredient!

13 Sep

I was thrilled out if my mind today when the kids actually thanked me for the chocolate-chip cookie bread I made for them today. Yes, I was thrilled because the delicious flavor of the bread was harboring my little secret. That sweet loaf of bread that they all thought was a decadent treat was actually HEALTHY.

The ultra secret, they’ll-never-know-cuz-I’ll-never-tell ingredient? SQUASH!

But don’t you dare tell them! Let’s just keep this between you and me, k? K.

So if we’re all square on keeping a tight lip I’ll share the recipe. Give it a try, you’ll love it!

Chocolate-chip Cookie Bread

  • 1 1/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 (generous) cup stevia (the cup-for-cup kind)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 jar 6 oz jar squash baby food
  • (You read that right. I use Gerber 3rd foods.)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Grease loaf pan with nonstick spray. Mix egg, oil, applesauce, stevia and sugar until creamy. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add that to the wet ingredients and mix. Sneak that bottle of squash in, too. Now mix in the chocolate chips. Pour into pan and bake for 30-40 minutes (All ovens are their own animals. Watch your bread for browning.)

Yeah, just you try to let it cool before you dig into it. Bet you can’t.

Leave a Reply

