Good Morning, Sunshine

23 Jan

On gray, smoggy days like today–or any of the last 30 days–my body craves sunshine and I find myself asking why January has to be such a long month.

But it seems for 31 days I wake up to January every morning. Ick! Snowy, cold, icy, gray January.

So I stumble downstairs to the dark kitchen and throw together what I call Spring In A Blender.

image

Sunshine in a glass. A green smoothie that has me feeling energized and nourished before the sun comes up.

In a blender, combine:

  • 1/2 C fruit juice (I use V-8 V-Fusion Light in Strawberry-Banana)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 segmented grapefruit (if you used bottled or canned, drain and rinse the fruit before using)
  • 2 large fistfuls of baby spinach (and/or baby kale, if I have it)
  • 1-2 tsp Truvia stevia sweetener

I LOVE this smoothy with a bowl of whole-wheat hot cereal. It’s just what I need to pull me through another dark, January day.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

