Citrus Water!

21 Feb

In my effort to reduce my Diet Coke consumption I’ve tried just about every other low or no-cal beverage out there, from herbal teas to some pretty gross concoction of honey and cinnamon in boiling water. Everything I tried had me running right back to the soda fountain to fill my cup with chemicals and caffeine. That is until I put together this delicious lemonade:

image

 

  • 64 oz. chilled water
  • the juice of 1 lemon
  • 1-2 Tbsp Truvia (or your choice of stevia sweetener)

I call this citrus water because you really can use any citrus fruit in this recipe. Experiment and find your favorite. Lately, I’ve fallen in love with Meyer lemons, a hybrid of a lemon and a mandarin orange. Because a Meyer lemon is sweeter and less acidic than a regular lemon I use just one tablespoon of sweetener. However, I will admit that with a regular lemon I use more.

Besides the obvious refreshing and thirst-quenching qualities of this no-cal lemonade, lemons contain citric acid, calcium, magnesium, bioflavonoids, pectin, and are a great source of vitamin C. Some sources claim that lemon juice has immune boosting qualities and aids in weight loss and has been used as a digestive aide and liver cleanser for centuries. While I won’t back up these claims, I do have to admit that since drinking the entire 64 ounces daily, I’ve lost the bloat and am feeling much lighter. I’ll take that!

Go ahead and give this refreshing beverage a try, but be aware that the citric acid in citrus fruits can lead to the erosion of the enamel on your teeth, so it is advised to wait 30 minutes after drinking or using lemon juice before brushing your teeth.

Leave a Reply

