Fulcrum

6 Mar

The key to a healthy life is balance. We all know this. Balance between work, play, and rest. Balance between career, family, and friends. Balance between mind, body, and spirit. We strive for balance.

Sometimes finding balance means shifting focus from time to time. I seem to do this often. As a passionate person, I tend to go gung ho in one direction, throwing all my heart and soul into and endeavor. Then, when my strength eventually wains, I shift my focus and aim my effort in a new direction.

As my attention and focus changes, my fulcrum, that which supports me, however, remains the same.

At this time in my life, I find my focus shifting often. I am not losing my passion for one activity over another. I am simply shifting on my fulcrum of faith and family to balance my love of fitness and fiction. That is to say, while I may not be writing here so much these days, I am still writing, focusing on my latest novel. And, man, don’t it feel good.

My newest work-in-progress is the story of a seventeen-year-old girl struggling to learn to balance her needs against the needs of her family–her diabetic younger brother, her high maintenance older sister, and her bereaved mother. And working on the story has me examining my own life.

I found myself giving my daughter a pep talk the other day. After her cheer coach gave her and the rest of her team a stern warning, she found herself feeling down, like she wasn’t good enough. I reminded her that if she is meeting her goals and her own expectations for herself, then that is all she needs to worry about. If, however, she felt that she was falling short of her own goals, then she should look into what she can change. That is not to say that she shouldn’t work toward the goals of her team. Team work is why we put her on a competitive cheer team in the first place. But meeting her goals and needs at this point in her development should come first.

Which brings me back to this point:

I am

Repeat it with me: I am enough. I am good enough. I am smart enough. I am strong enough to meet my goals!

How are you doing in this respect? Are you meeting your goals? Are you able to balance the needs of career and family with your own needs? I hope so.

2 Responses to “Fulcrum”

  1. Barbara March 6, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    Thanks for the great reminder! Loved this post!

    • Fifi March 6, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

      Thanks, Barbara!

Leave a Reply

