Nom, nom, nom …

11 Oct

Behold, the Duffin!

photo-3

I did not make up that name, nor do I claim credit for the creation of this cross between a cake donut and a muffin. But lying around sick all day watching morning television led me to try my hand and a copy-cat recipe.

photo-4I must admit two things: first, I don’t eat a lot of pastry/bakery store items so I cannot claim to be a connoisseur; second, I prefer raised, glazed doughnuts over cake doughnuts. Still, these muffins hit the spot this morning.

I’ve adapted the recipe to fit a “healthier” diet, of course.

  • 3 C whole grain flour (I used oat flour but you can use white whole wheat flour as well)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg (actually, I used Chinese 5 spice, but the taste is similar)
  • 1/2 C Truvia (or 3/4 C sugar)
  • 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 C melted butter (I used light margarine)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 C low-fat buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 TBSP low-sugar raspberry jam (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease or line muffin tins (I used one regular 12 cup tin and one mini 12 cup tin). Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and nutmeg and set aside. Mix together applesauce, butter, and sugar and mix well. Mix in egg, vanilla, and buttermilk. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix just until combined. Divide into muffin tins and bake for 13-15 minutes. Remove from oven and, while still warm, roll in desired sugar (cinnamon and sugar mixture, powdered sugar, or fine baking sugar are some suggestions). Allow to cool on cookie sheet. For a filled duffin, when cooled, inject the bottom of the muffin with jam using a pastry bag and tip.

Enjoy these moist, sweet treats while reading this wonderful book! (I’m shameless, I know.)

IMG_1295

Leave a Reply

