Why I Love My Smartphone (apps I can’t leave home without)

17 Oct

It’s that time of year again. Autumn break! This has got to be one of my favorite breaks of the school year. The weather is as perfect as can be; the trees are displaying tremendous color; the holidays are just around the corner. What’s not to love?

This year, we’ll be heading up to our little canyon retreat which means RUNNING the rolling hills of northern Cache County! With views like this who would want to stay indoors? And I love snapping a picture or two with my phone while out for my morning run.photo 1

Now, don’t you feel inspired to get outside and go for a run?

Sometimes when I travel, though, running isn’t an option. And then there are times when I just want to add a little more to my running–some resistance or yoga, for instance. That’s when I’m glad I have a smartphone loaded with fitness apps.

photo 2

While I somehow make use of each of these apps from time to time, there are a few that get used a little more than others. I’ll cut to the chase and tell you which of these fitness apps I can’t travel without.

Tabata Timer: It’s just what it says it is–a Tabata timer. Eight timed rounds of 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest. This is the perfect app for a quick, effective sweat fest.

Nike FuelBand app: Obviously, this app goes along with my Nike FuelBand–an activity tracker that keeps a tally of your steps, calories burned, and your fuel score (this is a score specific to the Nike FuelBand that is based on your movement). It’s a great motivating tool and I love to see how much I move each day, not just while working out but also folding laundry, shopping, you know, my everyday routine.

Daily Workouts: Five, seven, and ten minute workouts. You’ll be led through butt kickers, mountain climbers, high knees, and other tried and true basic exercises for a quick total-body workout.

Yoga with Tara Stiles: She has a series of podcasts offering simple, effective yoga workouts. I LOVE this app (ok, it’s a podcast, but anyway) when I’m traveling. It took a little time to get used to her voice, but the workouts are . . . well, for lack of a better word, yummy.

Barre3 app.: This is the only app on my list that is not free. That’s right, all the other apps are FREE. The Barre3 app was $4.99. But I consider that money well spent. I’ve talked in the past about my love affair with Barre3. Now I have it on the go. Delicious 10 minute workouts, recipes, fitness tips, and more. It’s a new app, but I’m clearly very excited about it. I will be getting my shakes and quakes on while up at the canyon retreat this weekend!

There you have it, the fitness apps I can’t travel without. I promise you won’t regret downloading a few of these. What are your favorite workout tools you can’t travel without?

 

Leave a Reply

