Rest Day and Banana Bread (go together like …)

28 Oct

Sundays are always my rest day. For those who CRAVE exercise, especially runners, rest days can be hard. I know it sounds absurd. But it’s true. While we understand that a day of rest every 7 to 14 days is best for not only the body but also the mind, sometimes we have a hard time allowing ourselves to simply BE for a day. Experts agree that rest days improve training, ward of injury and allow the muscles to replenish vital glycogen stores. And yet we rationalize our way out of them. We get itchy, irritable, jittery and just NEED to move. But I have enough work taking care of four kids and tending to some of my duties at church that a short walk with my husband is all I need to feel good on a Sunday. This Sunday I even took of my Nike FuelBand because I truly wanted (needed) some physical rest and didn’t want to catch myself glancing at my band to track my steps or activity. True to my nature, though, when I saw my daughter on the floor holding a plank pose, I couldn’t resist getting down and doing some ab work with her.

Page-01 copy

A beautiful autumn Sunday wouldn’t be complete without a warm treat. We enjoyed some moist, sweet banana bread with chocolate chips. Around here, we have chocolate in practically every dessert. The recipe was so simple. Almost too simple. What does that even mean? Almost too simple? It means that it was so easy and delicious, I wandered around the store today in search of over ripe bananas so I could make some more!

photo-8

So Simple Banana Bread

  • 4 ripe bananas mashed
  • 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 C lowfat buttermilk
  • 1 C white sugar (Can use 1/2 C honey or 1/2 C Truvia)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • 2 C white whole wheat flour (or any whole-grain flour)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 C mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease two regular-size loaf pans. Mash bananas and mix with ALL wet ingredients. Then combine dry ingredients and add to wet ingredients. Add chocolate chips and mix just until combined. Pour into loaf pans and bake for 45-50 minutes (watch for browning and check for doneness–it took 45-50 minutes in my oven). Remove from oven and lay loaf pans on their sides to cool. Remove from pans, slice and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

