So Long, Soda Addiction!

2 Jan

I don’t do resolutions. I talked about that here. But, this year I am making an exception. For the first time ever, I have made a New Year’s resolution.

It has been said that admitting you have a problem is the first step to overcoming said problem. So, with much humility (read: shame) I stand before you (just go with me here) to admit that I, Fifi, have a problem; I am a diet soda addict. And I am afraid I have modeled this behavior to my children. I am not proud of this, but I am human. Like any other human, I need healthy coping strategies. And after 15 years of stay-at-home motherhood, diet soda has become one of my go-to coping strategies. It is a reward, a pick-me-up, a soothing comfort food–if you will.

photo-10

But, no more. As of January 1, 2014, I will no longer partake. I have committed to quit using soda as my beverage of choice and will opt for water instead. Don’t get me wrong, soda is not completely off limits. I will still enjoy a diet soda from time to time, like most normal people I know do. I will just limit that consumption to a normal, healthy, dietician approved amount instead of liters at a time.

Day two off diet soda and I am happy to say that I am feeling fine. I will admit that I was nervous about this morning’s 9 treadmill miles seeing how in the past I’ve relied on diet Coke to get me through a long run on the treadmill. And I will also admit that the run did not feel great (partly due to the fact that I need new shoes, which I promptly ordered this evening). But I survived. And I will continue to survive. I am committed to kicking this soda addiction!

What about you?Have you committed to change this year? Do you do New Year’s resolutions?

4 Responses to “So Long, Soda Addiction!”

  1. Laurel January 3, 2014 at 3:33 am #

    My new year’s resolution is to cut back on sweets. I’m not into diet soda or junk foods (chips and stuff), but I LOVE cake and cookies. I know, it’s bad. I’m trying to limit how much I eat because it gets kind of ridiculous sometimes.

    • Fiauna January 3, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

      I’m not much into chips and stuff either. But, yeah, chocolate gets out of control for me, too. I guess balance is key, right?

      • Laurel January 4, 2014 at 4:59 pm #

        Yeah, balance is key for sure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Choices, Choices … | Fifi's FIT Farm - January 6, 2014

    […] The fact remains there is no such thing as luck or “good fortune.” There is only choice and consequence. A quote I love as I embark on my soda-free journey: […]

Leave a Reply

