Choices, Choices …

6 Jan

As practical and pragmatic as I can be at times, I am a surprisingly superstitious person.

photo 2

My husband brought home this little gem from an Asian market. These little waving kitties supposedly bring good fortune and prosperity according to Japanese culture. So, yeah, that ‘s what I keep thinking about when I see it around the house (my daughter keeps picking it up and moving it: couch, counter top, ottoman …). Who doesn’t want good luck, good fortune, and prosperity?

The fact remains there is no such thing as luck or “good fortune.” There is only choice and consequence. A quote I love as I embark on my soda-free journey:

“I free myself not by trying to be free, but by simply noticing how I am imprisoning myself in the very moment I am imprisoning myself.” –Rick Carson, Taming Your Gremlin

This quote, while basically negative, still calls the reader to remember their accountability. Accountability = Power. Power = Control. Control = Freedom. Freedom = Joy. See how that works?

Lately, I am making hourly choices about what I put into my body. As I fight the urge to drive down to the gas station and fill up a 44 ouncer with ice, Coke Zero, a splash of vanilla, a splash of cherry, and a twist of lemon–in that order. Sounds good, doesn’t it? … Oh, well. What was I saying? Oh, yeah–choices.

photo 1-2

This is what I am choosing this morning.

I know I’ll feel better after an hour on the treadmill, but I’m still trying to work myself up to it.

How are you doing with your New Year’s resolutions?

Anyone else superstitious?

Leave a Reply

