No-bake Cinnamon Bun Balls

23 Jan

I’m feeling good while kicking the soda habit. I mean, nothing life-changing has happened–no significant physical benefits that I can tell as of yet. However, after watching the news this morning and hearing that they have found that soda made with caramel coloring (cola drinks) may contain unhealthy amounts of a known carcinogen called 4-Mel, I am glad that I am kicking this addiction! Meanwhile, I’m enjoying a lot more water and herbal tea. Some hot chocolate may sneak in from time to time as well. But in general I have been focused on eating healthier. And that just feels good!

In the spirit of sharing and passing along anything good and healthy, I will share my new favorite snack:photo-11

No-bake Cinnamon Bun Balls

  • 1 C pitted dates
  • 1 C almonds (raw)
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar (optional; may reduce or omit)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ¼ C shredded coconut

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until a sticky meal forms. Using a small cookie/ice cream scoop or your hands, form 1-inch balls with the sticky meal. Refrigerate and store in an airtight container.

I use almonds for these treats just because I prefer almonds to cashews. That said, you can use cashews and get a doughier mixture that forms well and can be easily made into bars. Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

